ISLE OF ANGLESEY COUNTY COUNCIL	
MEETING:	COUNTY COUNCIL
DATE:	12 DECEMBER 2017
TITLE OF REPORT:	REVIEW BY THE BOUNDARY COMMISSION FOR WALES - REVIEW OF PARLIAMENTARY CONSTITUENCIES AND REVISED PROPOSALS 2018
REPORT BY:	HEAD OF DEMOCRATIC SERVICES
PURPOSE OF REPORT:	TO REPORT TO MEMBERS ON THIS ISSUE

1.0 2018 Review of Parliamentary Constituencies and Revised Proposals

In September 2016 the Boundary Commission for Wales published initial proposals to reduce the number of Parliamentary constituencies from 40 to 29. A report was submitted to this Council on 18th October, 2016.

Proposals announced for the new constituency of Isle of Anglesey and Arfon were not supported by the Council.

Revised proposals have recently been published by the Boundary Commission. Comments are requested by the 11 December, 2017.

The document can be accessed via the link below:

http://bcomm-wales.gov.uk/2018-review/2018 revised proposals?lang=en

These include further changes to the Parliamentary constituency of Ynys Môn. The Commission proposes to create a county constituency from:-

- The whole of the Ynys Môn County Council.
- The electoral wards within the County of Gwynedd, Arllechwedd, Deiniol, Dewi, Marchog, Gerlan, Glyder, Hendre, Hirael, Garth, Menai, Ogwen, Pentir, Tregarth and Mynydd Llandegai, and Y Felinheli.
- The electoral wards within the County of Conway wards of Bryn, Capelulo, Pandy and Pant-yr-Afon/Penmaenan.

3 existing Parliamentary constituencies are affected namely Ynys Môn, Arfon and Aberconwy.

The Commission proposes the name Ynys Môn a Fangor (Anglesey and Bangor) for the new constituency.

The Boundary Commission will not accept observations after the 11 December and in view of the fact that the County Council is meeting on the 12 December, a response has been prepared in consultation with Group Leaders reiterating this Councils opposition to the revised proposals. An update will be provided at the Council meeting.

2.0 Recommendation

To confirm this Councils opposition to proposals to change the Parliamentary constituency of Ynys Môn.

Huw Jones Head of Democratic Services 4/12//2017